The Shamrock

No, I wasn’t adventurous enough to include actual clover in the making of “The Shamrock” (although clover IS edible), I just really like the color of this last smoothie and thought it reflected the color of shamrocks nicely. This one is adapted from our Vitamix cookbook.

The Shamrock Ingredients

For this smoothie you will need

  • 1 bunch grapes (1- 1 1/2 cup)
  • 1/3 pear
  • 1 – 2 cups fresh pineapple chunks*
  • 1/3 avocado
  • 1.5 – 2 cups spinach
  • 1/2 cup pineapple juice
  • 1 kiwi (optional)
  • 1-2 cups ice

*With our blender, you don’t have to core the pineapple-however with some blenders it may not process the core as nicely.

Also, the amount of these ingredients are approximate- especially depending how you cut the fruit up and the size of the fruit.  Sometimes I don’t like the kiwi in it & sometimes I put a broccoli floret in.  Once I forgot the pineapple juice and it was still  good, so if you are more cautious about extra calories/carbs, substitute water for the juice if you need some liquid.

The Shamrock

I promise, I did make this on St. Patrick’s Day….however at the end of the day, I was just too exhausted to get on the computer and write this post.  It’s too bad, since I really wanted to publish a post on March 17th, since that was the whole reason I started this “green smoothie countdown,” so it is a bit ironic that probably the week of smoothies + the actual St. Patrick’s Day activities burned me out so much that I couldn’t even muster the effort to properly finish the series out. To make myself feel better about not posting yesterday, I will consider this “St. Patrick’s Day Weekend,” and hopefully there is still enough holiday spirit to forgive this tardy post.

I left off last night with the picture of Fiona in bed, and my “Leprechaun” preparations ready for the morning.  Of course Fiona woke up in the middle of the night, saw the footprints and I had to try and get her back to sleep without too much of a fuss.  She still woke up very early as you can tell by how dark it is, but at least I was prepared.

She was really thrilled with the footprints.  Although she did ask me if I “glued” them, and if Daddy did, so I am not sure how much I can get away with.   Luckily she didn’t question why the footprints seemed to change from black to green.

The Leprechauns left a shamrock on our calendar.

The footprints led downstairs to her easel, where the Leprechauns had left her a message, and a few little surprises. By the way, take note: I really like this dinosaur shirt I got in Germany, where the dinosaurs say “Roah” instead of “Roar.”

 The shamrock ornament she is holding is one of 10 that Rijen and I hid around the house. (I hid 5 upstairs and he hid 5 downstairs).  I then set her up with her new breakfast cereal and left to go jogging with my friend Meghann.  Then after getting back and getting ready, we all left for our Saturday soccer game. (Rijen and I are part of a co-ed Soccer League).

Our Cheerleading Squad on the Sidelines

There are several other players on the team with young children, so we all do our best to keep an eye on them when we are subbing out, and the kids all play together on the sidelines.  This time Fiona was lucky to have someone reading them all a book.

Our team is called the “Red Devils.” You can see Rijen here getting the ball away from the other team.  

I would have like to have taken more pictures, but I had to manage fussy Leif at the same time, so maybe another game I will try and get more.  We lost our game, but Rijen and I both agreed that we had each played pretty well, so we didn’t feel too bad about it.  I think it did tire me out a lot though.

Once we got home, I made the smoothie and to go with it, we had tuna fish on the bread we made yesterday. Not very festive, but I am working up to it! Maybe next year I can graduate to Corned Beef and Soda Bread.

 We then did quiet time in her room, playing “Ponies” of course, where the theme turned out to be outer space, wherein the ponies “wear” various items on their heads to simulate space helmets (This was all Fiona) and then they got into a makeshift spaceship to blast off to the moon. On the moon I took a little dramatic license  where I introduced the character of a huge alien giant (this was all Leif) who would grab the ponies and try and suck on their heads.  (Sorry, no photo). Luckily, Fiona was able to save her ponies from the giant alien, and I was eventually able to sneak away downstairs to start prepping the kitchen to make cookies.

I  realized too late, though, that I should have made the cookie dough the day before, as it is much easier to work with after chilling. Even letting it chill two hours was cutting pretty close to bedtime, so I got away with it by putting it in the freezer for about 45 minutes.  Fiona and I had a good time making it, and an even better time doing some Irish dancing while the dough was chilling.

I thought it would be fun to have some Irish music on while we made the cookies, and instantly Fiona started dancing, so I recorded a little bit of it. Then she noticed that the music was coming from a YouTube video I had found of Lord of the Dance (naturally), and she was entranced by the Irish tap dancing. I talked to her a little bit about how it was different, and then started another song & she started dancing again.

I think it is really interesting to see the difference in her dancing in the two clips I recorded, so watch for that if you are interested. Leif also started kicking his legs up, but of course when I tried to record him doing it, he stopped.

The dancing was the highlight of the St. Patrick’s Day sugar cookies because it all went downhill from there. Maybe it was just my overall exhaustion by that point in the day, but the cookie cutting/decorating part wasn’t as much fun as I thought it was.  I had made only half the recipe because I didn’t want to have tons of cookies, but for that reason, I was probably more overprotective of the dough than I should have been.

Fiona kept sticking her finger in the frosting and licking it, eating dough without asking (because she was “really hungry”) and exasperatingly mashing and poking the cookies after they were cut out.  I shouldn’t have minded so much- except for a small plate which I wanted to give away, and for which cookies I cut out myself–I didn’t really care how the rest looked like in the end. I think part of the problem was just that I was trying to teach Fiona how to cut out and handle the cookie dough correctly, when I think she really just wanted to play. (Like when she plays with playdough).  My patience and energy level was low at this point of the day, so after she disobeyed me too many times, I put her in a “Pause” and of course she had a tantrum.

I don’t feel too bad about it, since she hasn’t had a tantrum in a while, and I also feel that I contributed towards not creating the best possible situation for success for her, however it was unfortunate to have the end of a fun day spiral into a tantrum and me feeling irritated.

I learned some good lessons from this however:

  • Don’t start making cookies right before dinner when Fiona is starving.
  • Be ready to abandon “teaching moments” in favor of just playing. Or don’t take it personally when that happens.
  • Chill cookie dough ahead of time/make extra.
  • Never decorate cookies with Fiona again.
  • Let Fiona make cookies with Grandma/Aunties instead.

After her tantrum and Pause (time out), Fiona recouped by lying on the floor next to Leif. That cheered her up and made us all feel better. 

After baking the cookies, their dinner & getting the kids to bed and cleaning up– instead of posting this entry on time, we ended up getting our favorite Torchy’s Tacos (and I didn’t even bother to take a photo of it! Next time, perhaps) and watching Friday Night Lights, a series we started watching on Netflix after hearing several good recommends and also that it was filmed near where we are.

So this ends the Green Smoothie St. Patrick’s Day Countdown one day late! I hope it was a little window into kind of a typical week for us & I think it was an interesting exercise for me to see what it would be like to try posting every day.  I don’t think I would want or be able to do a blog post this often, however it did make me realize that I should try and keep up on this better than I have in the past.

3 responses to “The Shamrock

  1. Wow, Fiona really was impressive. I like how she not only picked up on the leg kicks but tried to keep her arms straight down…so cute! I loved all of your efforts and don’t feel badly about becoming impatient. Sugar cookies do that to the best of moms, I am convinced. Never go into a sugar decorating activity without a full nights rest and barely anything else on the calendar is probably good advice. Sometimes I even make all the cookies ahead of time and just let the kids frost and sprinkle – but that is not as fun or meaningful perhaps as allowing them to help in the rolling and cutting out process. Either way, it looked like a really fun day and congrats on the soccer, Rijen looks great. Wish I was there at the end of the day to eat tacos together.

    Like

  2. You should watch the documentary “Jig”, about kids from all over the world who do competitive Irish dancing! I loved it!! (But, I do love most documentaries.)

    Like

  3. Loved, “Never decorate cookies with Fiona again!” LOL! Such is life with kids! I’m glad that you are able to review the behaviors…the antecedent, the behavior and then the resolution.

    Love, H

    Like

Leave a Reply

