The Orchard Oatmeal Smoothie

How are you all getting ready for St. Patrick’s Day?  I’m afraid we don’t have a lot planned. I’ve never done a special dinner, although I’d love to try it someday. I might try doing something I remember my mom doing that involves “Leprechaun footprints,” so if I do figure that out, I will have to share that idea later.

I know for sure we will be decorating sugar cookies- Fiona has been asking about it constantly.  The problem is, I cannot find a shamrock cookie cutter (for a decent price) anywhere. The places I’ve looked they are either sold out or I couldn’t find them. I may just end up free handing it with a knife. So we’ll see how that goes.  At least we have our green smoothies every morning to get us in the mood!

Ingredients for Orchard Smoothie

For this delicious smoothie you need

  • 1/2 cup ground oatmeal*
  • 1/2 cup low-fat yogurt
  • 1 cup frozen peaches
  • 1 apple, cored and cut
  • 1 bunch green grapes
  • 1 cup ice cubes
  • 1 Tbs brown sugar (optional)
  • 2-3 tsp cinnamon (optional)
  • 1 Tbs wheat germ for garnish (optional)

Notes: For the ground oatmeal- We have a separate blender for dry ingredients, such as making flour from grains etc.  So it was simple for me to make the ground oatmeal in a matter of seconds.  I like doing this anyway to make our own baby cereal.  I should try this sometime just with the regular oatmeal to see how it goes.

So I don’t know if with a regular blender the oatmeal wouldn’t get blended enough and if that would be strange.  The way this one turned out, it has a really good oatmeal flavor that goes well with the other ingredients, especially the apple.

I really liked the wheat germ garnish, although you could do cinnamon/cinnamon sugar instead. Or both!

Hopefully tomorrow I will have a chance to discuss yogurt, because that is really essential to a good smoothie.

OK, for today’s random feature I was really struggling- But then I remembered a little video I took last Thursday.

So, Fiona has “quiet time” in her room every day, which has evolved from “nap time.” Sadly, she does not take a nap, but it is supposed to be a time where she plays quietly on her own.  However, I usually “get her started” by reading her books and/or playing “Ponies” with her.

On this day, I was playing some music so that she and the ponies could dance and she started doing some really interesting dance moves, so I ran and got the camera.  My favorite is the intense look of concentration on her face and a few “Flashdance” moves that she somehow channels.  Another reason for putting this is to showcase Leif’s new favorite thing lately–to shake his head back and forth, which he does toward the end…his way of getting in on the action.

5 responses to “The Orchard Oatmeal Smoothie

  1. When you come visit, I think we’ll have to make some smoothies….to balance out the cookies and cream french toast we still have to try.

    It says the video is private. I can see why Fiona would want to keep her dance moves under wraps.

    Like

  2. This smoothie looks really really yummy!! I love Fiona’s moves!! I honestly think she interprets the music so well, I’m very impressed. Leif is adorable with his head shaking, it made me smile. Thanks for the week of smoothies as well as the past or present updates, I’m enjoying this. 🙂

    Like

  3. So I just made this today for part of our St. Patricks Day celebration and my family loved it! I used Jonas’s soy ice cream in place of yogurt since I didn’t have any good soy yogurt to use. Mine looked much more brown than green but it still tasted delicious. I have really enjoyed this series!

    Like

  4. Pingback: Yellow 黄色 Kiiro | RIJ & MEG·

Leave a Reply

