Last Sunset in North Carolina

A funeral is not the easiest or most appropriate event for picture taking. However, especially for those of us who live far away, I am glad that some of these moments were captured to help us remember the few days that we all were able to be together to celebrate Grandma’s life and say goodbye.

I will let the pictures speak for themselves for the most part, with a few explanations here or there. The moments that were most significant to me could not be photographed, however I want to make sure I remember them.

For the family members who were present and view the photos below, I hope it helps you to remember the moments in between. The reunions, the surprises, the shared memories, the expressions of grief, happiness, and love. I am grateful that I was able to be there and have a small part in honoring my grandmother’s life.

After everyone had gone home on Sunday gatherings, my Grandma would turn the blinds and Gary would come in and lock the door before saying goodnight. On this night, the evening of the funeral, I happened to glance out the window and was struck by the immense beauty of the sunset.

Last Sunset

When I stepped outside to see it better, I turned and could see through the open blinds the many family members who had lingered as the sun was setting, talking and enjoying each other’s company.  Those lights stayed on well past sunset, long into the night, visible only to the few cars passing over the hill along the long country road.

3 responses to “Last Sunset in North Carolina

  1. Pingback: 100 (ಠ益ಠ) / !! ONE HUNDRED – PART I !! >゜))))彡 | RIJ & MEG·

Leave a Reply

