High & Low Culture Combination Weekend

WHAT do these two pictures have in common?

Well, normally I wouldn’t want these pictures to relate to each other at all, however this past Saturday (Feb 6), at least for me, these two themes were linked.  I will explain….

Both of these pictures represent combinations of a sort.  The first is fairly obvious….what better fast food combination could there be than one between Taco Bell and Pizza Hut?  Actually, being the indecisive person that I am, and considering that Taco Bell is my favorite fast food restaurant, yet I have also always loved the Hut, this combination quite possibly would be the worst for me, as I would probably be stuck paralyzed at the cash register by the impossible decision to choose between a Gordita Supreme and a Personal Pan Pizza.  A better combination would be KFC and anything else.  YOU know what I would pick in that case.

Whether it be genius or torture, the idea of a combination Taco Bell and Pizza Hut has now been immortalized in song form by “Das Racist,” two rap buddies from Queens.  Rijen, always the purveyor of interesting/strange/new music, played this song for me on You Tube when he got home from work one day.  If you have not heard it, you should, so either search for it yourself on You Tube, or see if this link works, and then listen to it while you read the rest of this post:  Combination Pizza Hut and Taco Bell.

I only had to hear the song once to have it stuck in my head for the next five days.  And I kind of didn’t mind! Was it the paradoxically pleasing “Ha’s” in the beginning?  The repetitive lyrics? (I’m at the Pizza Hut/What?/I’m at the Taco Bell /Naw/I’m at the combination Pizza Hut and Taco Bell) The bad on purpose grammar? The variance in syncopation? Picturing two dudes talking to each other on their cell phones while at the same Yum! franchise in a cosmic culinary coincidence? Speculating what they might have ordered?

Maybe it was just a nice respite from “Bad Romance,” which seems to be played on every German station every 5 minutes. I will take Das Racist’s “Ha Ha’s, What’s and Naw’s” over Ga Ga’s “Rah Rah’s”  and “Romah mahs” any day of the week.

And that’s a sentence I didn’t expect to write when I started out this post, and don’t ever ask me to read it out loud three times fast either.

SO I digress.  The second picture represents the country/city of Luxembourg, which we visited with Rijen’s oldest brother Aaron.  They relate because I had the Pizza Hut/Taco Bell song stuck in my head the whole time we were in Luxembourg, and also the whole time I was kind of confused about whether I felt I was in the country of Luxembourg or the city.  Is it a combination kind of like the Vatican City or Monaco? Was it a city/state/country combo?

So when I got home, I had to look it up.

It is NOT a combo-entity like Taco Hut or Pizza Bell because the city of Luxembourg is actually one of 116 communes in the country. (avoiding a technical explanation, just think of communes as similar to a city). So, one could be in the country of Luxembourg, but not be in the city of Luxembourg.  While this may seem obvious, just realize that it does get a bit confusing, as the place we visited was the commune of Luxembourg, which is also the canton of Luxembourg, which is also the district of Luxembourg, which also happens to be the name of the whole country. To help ease this confusion, just sing the following lyrics to the tune of the aforementioned song, “I’m in the city of Luxembourg/ What/ I’m also in Luxembourg/Naw/ The city and district and canton and country of Luxembourg.” Don’t get mad at me if it gets stuck in your head too.

Another reason why it is not like a combination Pizza Hut and Taco Bell is that you will be paying much more than a couple bucks to get a meal.  Luxembourg is one of the richest cities in the world, so we settled for a chocolate waffle from a street vendor instead of a sit down meal.  (We actually had already eaten a nice German meal in Spangdahelm, where we met up with Rijen’s brother).

Aaron shares his waffle with Fiona

The wealth of the city was evident in the beautiful streets, scenery and the high-end shops we walked past.  We looked at sleek furniture which would work in your home if your home was also a modern art museum, insanely expensive watches, and I tarried by a window which had some really beautiful blue suede high heels. I compromised a few days later by buying blue suede flats for 10 EUR from MANGO.

Since our trip was pretty spontaneous, due to the unexpected delay of Aaron’s flight (which was why we were able to meet up with him in the first place), we didn’t really have a set plan or a lot of time, so we just enjoyed  the atmosphere of the city as we walked around and were grateful for the chance to catch up with Aaron.  We also weren’t sure what buildings were what exactly, so unfortunately I can’t give any info as to what these buildings are, but here are some pictures from our walk:

Now that we can add Luxembourg to yet another country which we can visit as a day trip…

About 3.5 hour drive to Luxembourg

…we hope to be able to visit there again soon when we have a bit more time, and perhaps some of you to join us!

One response to “High & Low Culture Combination Weekend

Leave a Reply

