Steffan McMilliner..or the “Mad Hatter” (Part II)

IN the last post, I promised that I would reveal more of Steffan’s exclusive baby fashion, designed especially for Fiona. Unfortunately, I did not finish this before our trip to UT and AZ, so I apologize about the delay.

Okay, the above  paragraph and most of below was written over a month ago, and I forgot to change this post from a draft to be published.  So there was a major delay on this! We are now in Germany, but I figured I need to finish this two-part post before I move on to our current life.  So, back to what I originally wrote last month:

Without further ado, we begin our review of Steffan’s baby fashion with a practical yet fun solution to a common problem plaguing mommies and babies everywhere:

The dreaded bald spot.

Lots o' hair
Lots o’ hair

One of the first things I remember about the first time I saw Fiona was her beautiful dark hair. She had a lot of it and it was fairly thick. People would comment on it and even compliment her (me?) about how lucky she was not to have a baby bald spot. I smugly thought that Fiona would not have this problem.

I got my comeuppance however, when after about 2 or 3 months she indeed developed a bald spot.  In her case, I notice that when she is falling asleep or waking up, she will turn her head frantically from side to side in search of her favorite food source, which is not to be found inside her pack and play.

The Bald Spot

The Bald Spot

More apparent due to loss of hair after birth when hormone levels drop, the  bald spot occurs when there is friction and pressure on one spot of the head. Due to the “Back to Sleep” campaign, babies should be put on their backs to sleep, which contributes to this problem.

How to remedy the bald spot? Two ideas:

First, try to mitigate the problem by providing a smoother surface when sleeping. I have tucked a blanket with a silk lining inside her pack and play. The smoother surface protects her hair. It also has been good for me to be mindful about when she rubs her head and how often she is on her back because I forget sometimes to give her “tummy time,” which she needs.

Sleeping Fee

Sleeping Fee

Second, distract your viewer with a funky hair-bow or cover it entirely with an exotic hat! This is Steffan’s modus operandi, as exhibited here:

(Eastern) Eurotrash

(Eastern) Eurotrash

How it should be worn

Man in Kalpak

Who wore it best?  Actually, I don’t want to trivialize this hat– it is actually one of the most meaningful pieces of traditional Kyrgyz clothing.  There are variants of spelling and design of these type of hats worn in regions of Turkey, Iran, throughout Central Asia and the Caucasus. This specific one is worn by men especially in rural Kyrgyzstan.  Rijen brought it back when he was there doing election monitoring and he said that he did see it worn often. Not by baby girls, however, so I think we will retire this look for the time being, and leave it for those who really look good wearing it.

Dervishes by Vereshchagin

Dervishes by Vereshchagin

“No problem,” said Steffan, when I vetoed the Kyrgyz hat.  “If you can’t cover it up, you can divert attention from the bald spot to something else.”

“Like what?” I asked.

“Well,” said Steffan, “Here is something that I like to call ‘Baby Tell.’  Artistic with a jaunty flair, this ensemble will please mothers with its literary references and give fathers something to brag about.”

William Tell Hat- Fall '09

William Tell Hat- Fall '09

Complete Look

Complete Look

Steffan further reports that the “all-white” look was so that the red apple would “really pop,” and that the bib is not part of the outfit, but a functional drool/spit-up catching accessory.  He also insisted that no, he was not trying to see if Fiona could balance the apple on her head.  I told Steffan that the only modern version that I like of the William Tell apple is this one:

Edgerton's high-speed photography

Edgerton's high-speed photography

So, this post is long enough I think, so I will save the last installment of Steffan’s baby fashion till next time, which hopefully won’t be months from now.  In that post I will feature his last two looks as well as an interview with this up-and-coming designer.

Leave a Reply

